Harddrive help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2005, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default Harddrive help

wow what is a model st33210a Seagate Harddrive capacity i have one just sitting here.
__________________

GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Here are the specs according to Seagate.

Capacity: 3.25 GB
Speed: 5400 rpm
Average Read Time: 12 ms
Cylinders: 787
Heads: 128
Sectors: 63


When in doubt, Google it.
__________________

__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Defiantely an easy thing to find on google...
MDupreejr is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

LOL, sounds like it might be a little old.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

wow sorry i forgot about Google. but Thank you Switch. Yeah i knew it was old Do you think i can sell for 5 bucks? on ebay or sell it to a family member for 10 and install it lol?And say that it's good.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 11:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

I would keep it around for a backup drive to ghost an OS image to. Even though it is only 3.25 Gb (according to that seagate spec sheet) it can still hold an OS load with a few programs.

Basically, keep it around for utility purposes. I would not want to put that in anything new, it is not really worth using in any of today's laptops. You could put it in about a 5-7 year old laptop where the rest of the system could keep up with the hard drive; see how it goes with that.
__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 11:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well would that fit in a laptop and do laptop's have a slave capability i don't know anything about notebooks but I pulled that outta my machine my brother built and replaced it with a secondary 80.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.