HardDrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2008, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default HardDrive

Hi All,
I bought a 250gb hard drive which was working great, it is a WD hard drive.
I gave it to my friend to put something on it and he returned it a few days later. The harddrive won't work now!

I mean, when I attach the hard drive to different computers all it does is say hard drive installed and ready to use. However nothing is seen in my computer, no hard drive is seen. I went in to the control panel and still don't see the hard drive on disk management tool.
Then I went into the Device manager, I can see a WD hard drive attached to the computer, but when I ask the Harddrive info to show up it says hard drive not readable can't populate info on the hard drive.

What could be causing this prob. Normally when I attached the hard drive, it would automatically react and open up a windo asking me to do all different this such as play music, play video, open folder etc.

shoot, is the hard drive trash now?
__________________

paradigmshift is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: HardDrive

thats strange, well did he do something to it, does it look like it was damaged.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: HardDrive

Well, I trusted him... and he doesn't admit to doing anything to it. But after my paranoid brian started going throught the horrible scenarious of what he might have done to the hard drive, I "noticed" like a rolling screw inside the hard drive. I can only hear it, don't know what it actually is, then I felt the hard drive to see if something was revolving inside and don't seem to feel anything revolving inside.
So I suspect the hard drive was dropped or something, however hard drive is superficially fine.

So what do I do? Is my paranoia of a broken hard drive right?
paradigmshift is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 07:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: HardDrive

not %100 if this will help, but i use it on all of my WD harddrives... DL and see if this program recognizes it, and if can fix it in any way maybe...

Western Digital Data Lifeguard Tools Download

good luck - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: HardDrive

if that doesn't work instead of just getting another one (and making your friend pay for it hehe) look inside it, if there is something rolling around it might be easily fixed, what do u got to loose at that point.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: HardDrive

right... dont do anything too drastic to it tho... in %99 of cases, theres a way to fix it (or at the very least, recover the data on it) if you just look hard enough... - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: HardDrive

had to do that to a cd drive once, one of the gears was all fuc*** up and it was brand new, just opened it up very carfully and replaced the gear, if you do it slowly, if you take out anything mark down where it came from (just in case.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: HardDrive

I mean the friend is a responsible person, but... I don't know. Just the fact that I may loose so much money for trusting someone is pssng me off. But again these are reactions, I am going to try the WD diagnostic software as suggested otherwise I will do drastic things after
paradigmshift is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: HardDrive

Just in case I need to become a hardware surgeon, any of you guys know how to open this type of hard drive WDXMSA2500TN... It has no visible screws on the outside.
paradigmshift is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: HardDrive

ohhh... its a WD passport... you didnt say that, i dont think...
i would strongly advise against opening that up then... its not made to be opened... if all else fails, id send that in to WD and hope its under warranty... : / - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new harddrive issue StriderZ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-19-2008 02:18 PM
Upgrading Harddrive Xarulsis New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-11-2007 10:10 PM
External harddrive for all torrents/movies etc to avoid... oxfile84 Laptops and Notebooks 6 09-21-2007 11:29 PM
Spontaneous Harddrive Failure Mortiffer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-14-2007 04:13 AM
any program that will copy harddrive to another Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 17 06-07-2007 05:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.