Harddive missing bottom panel? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2009, 02:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default Harddive missing bottom panel?

I got a HDD from newegg.com and it didn't have the bottom panel (there's a small circuit board and some kind of wire exposed). Idk maybe some HDD's don't come with a back panel so I emailed western digital asking if there should be a bottom panel (attached an image of it aswell) and they said "This drive does not come with a bottom panel. For more information please visit our support web page: http://support.wdc.com/product/kb.asp?modelno=WD5001AALS".

Is that poor support or do some harddives just not come with the bottom panel?
__________________

Org is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

All of my wd drives do not have a bottom cover.

It is standard.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Org
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 138
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

I re-e-mailed them (before making this topic) asking if they where sure the back panel shouldn't be there b/c it sure looks like there should be one and I got this response:

"Thank you for contacting Western Digital Customer Service and Support.

You need to contact the seller for more information on the product you purchased. Western Digital doe not support OEM hard drives.so I can't tell you what should be included with an OEM product."

Does this mean they won't support the 5 year warranty?
Org is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

They will, they just have no idea of what your specific drive is. But there are no normal hard drives on the market that have a bottom panel, there should be nothing in a case that would short them out anyways.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

LIke the others said, hard drives don't come with a bottom panel to cover the circuit board.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-31-2009, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

all of the hard drives i have owned have no cover on the bottom. (other then my ssd, which is not really a hard drive, it is a solid state drive, but you could consider it one)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

The only HDDs i have that have a bottom cover are my WD Raptor X's because they have a case around them but my WD Black 1TB doesnt have a bottom cover. There is no point in having one so they just don't waste the money putting one on. Don't worry, your drive is fine and WD will still honor the warranty, they just don't provide support for it.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 06:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

There is no bottom cover on any hard drive, don't worry about it.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 02:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

I've had a few HDDs with a bottom panel but most don't - it is perfectly normal.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 11:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Harddive missing bottom panel?

__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Dell computer is infected tamdiaz HijackThis Logs (finished) 13 04-01-2009 11:14 PM
Get To Know Linux: The GNOME Panel Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 03-04-2009 01:52 PM
Explorer.exe CRASHES INSTANTLY =( [F] wootwoot HijackThis Logs (finished) 28 07-15-2008 02:47 PM
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.