Hard (to understand) Drives - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 05:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
just adding one more thing, S-ATA's are Hot swappable ( means that you can unplug/re-plug data cables while system is running.
Good point. I did not mean to suggest that he hot swap in order to compare. I should have said d/l a benchmarking utility before he installs the new SATA if he goes that route.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 07:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koldapu
i also agree with agex . . .

on newegg, a comparable PATA (parallel ata) and SATA are only $3-4 apart . . .

same drive, but different interface

if your mobo can handle it, then get a sata

be careful with the SATA drives, they are a pain in the *** to install windows onto.

If i could go back in time i'd just get an ATA drive and be done with it. EXTREMELY easy install compared to the 3 hour+fight with the stupid SATA drivers, and my floppy drive.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
...not all S-ATA's coem with both power connectors, I have WD (with S-ATA Power conenctor only)...
Really? My WD has both.

Quote:
Originally posted by slvrstang
be careful with the SATA drives, they are a pain in the *** to install windows onto...
I wouldn't say a pain in the ***. They are the easiest things to install.

What is a pain in the *** though, is trying to locate the drivers for your controller, if you don't have them already.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default

haahahahahah that title was funny!
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 03:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by agex000
Really? My WD has both.



I wouldn't say a pain in the ***. They are the easiest things to install.

What is a pain in the *** though, is trying to locate the drivers for your controller, if you don't have them already.
Exactly, my OEM drive came with nothing, and apparently i needed 3 SEPERATE DRIVERS to make it recognize it correctly to install windows onto. I only had 1 floppy disk so i tried them all seperately and it didn't work so i installed one driver, took out the floppy, formatted and installed another driver repeat 1 more time and viola. 3 hours total for 150mbs instead of 133 even though neither of them run at those speeds ever.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slvrstang
Exactly, my OEM drive came with nothing...
That's because you need the drivers for your SATA controller, not the SATA HDD itself!
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 09:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

is there any way to avoid this problem?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 09:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Raekwon
is there any way to avoid this problem?
Which problem is that? You need to be more specific!
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 03:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by agex000
That's because you need the drivers for your SATA controller, not the SATA HDD itself!

Newegg.com doesn't even sell retail HD's ONLY OEM.

As do many other places.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.