Is it hard to install the following hardware ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2004, 07:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Ecca Ecca
Default Is it hard to install the following hardware ?

I really never installed anything in a computer besides ram and a floppy drive. I was wondering if it would be hard for me to install the following:
*More Fans
*A Different Power Supply
*A New HardDrive

Ok, if you are wondering why I need/might need to install the following it is because I think my hard drive is dying. This is my 3rd hard drive in about roughly a year. The first two suffered from random crashes and boot up problems until they were no longer able to boot up. This current HardDrive is now starting to get 'corrupt data' messages and random flashes of a blue screen as it crashes and reboots itself. Members of another forum told me that this could be due to a cheap power supply and/or a hot temp. inside the pc. If this hard drive dies I am not going to get another one because I have no money. So I need to try to correct the problem now, although it may be too late. So I was thinking of installing more fans to keep the temperature down and if that did not work then I could install a new power supply. I have 3 other computers that are old and I could remove the powersupply/fans from if needed.

Feel free to ask any questions and I will try my best to answer them
__________________

Ecca Ecca is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
Default

never done power supply or more fans, but hard drive is extremly easy
__________________

dacdd9 is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Power supply is very easy. just make sure it fits and it has enough connections.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

hard disk is extremely easy. just plug in your new hdd into the exact same plugs as your old one, psu is slightly harder but its the same principle, just plug the psu into the same plugs as your old one. Extra fans are the easiest but just make sure there is plugs on your mobo, or has enough molex plugs.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Adding additional fans and accessories is NOT a very hard thing to do. What you need to take into consideration is the power consumption the added devices will need. For example, if you have a 200 Watt power supply and you start to add devices such as extra hard drives or a few extra fans, you will start to notice weird behavior on that PC. Power is a big factor when addring components to your PC.

But go right ahead and give things a try, you will find your experience educational and fun!!
HoLoCroN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.