Hard Drives... do they slow down? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2003, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Default Hard Drives... do they slow down?

Hey guys,
amature question for sure but we all have to learn right?
My question is I am thinking about getting the new WD SATA (raptor?) 36gb hard drive... now a friend of mine who got his BA in Comp Sci told me that if you have two hard drives spinning at different speeds they both slow down to the lowest rpm.
I'm wondering if this holds true.
I have a pata 120 seagate right now but want to add that sata... is that a waste of money due to the two different hard drive speeds (10,000 & 7,200)
Thanx in advance
__________________

Tempus is offline  
Old 09-04-2003, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Here's the deal, if you have 2 hard drives of different rotation speeds on the same IDE channel, your data will only travel as fast as your slowest device.

But since you'll have one SATA drive and one regular ATA drive, it should not effect you. Different paths for data to travel.

I do suggest, however, that to optimize your speed, you put your OS and regularly used proggys on the SATA and use the other drive for storage.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-04-2003, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Dave Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Dave Smith
Default

^^ basically
Dave Smith is offline  
Old 09-04-2003, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Thanx for the info guys
thats how i thought it worked but i just wanted to check with someone with more experience then myself
Tempus is offline  
Old 09-04-2003, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

No problemo.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-06-2003, 03:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

there are different types of IDE channels, ATA66, ATA100 and ATA133. some have a 40 pin connection and some have an 80 pin, the 80 pin is backward compatible with 40 pin (i think)
if you have the drives on different channels they will not affect each other, and if you have larger bandwith with the IDE cables that will make it even better still (i.e. if you have an ATA133 cable on an ATA100 channel)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.