Hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Hard drives

Can someone explain the difference between a regular hard drive and a sata. I have 1 sata hard drive and I want to use it for everything I have...Operating system, games, music..... Will this be ok? Im lost on the definition of a sata hard drive. I also want to use it with the serial ata cable. Can I do that?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cubicle Bunker
Posts: 109
Default

SATA has a fast transfer rate of 150Mbps
__________________

__________________
Dell Precision 670 (3.4GHz DP Xeon, 4GB DDR2, XPSP3)
Dell D800 (1.8GHz, 1GB, XPSP3)

I work with computers, I play FFXI.
vagnozzi is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Serial ata is sata. As you put it, a normal harddrive, you will probally be refering to IDE. IDE has a slower transfer rate, but they do not even use the full bandwidth that IDE has, so Sata will not be that much faster, but you get the thinner cables. The reason that sata is faster is because you can have raid on different channels (with ide it has to be on the same cable for raid, so it is limited by bandwidth, and it can't read and write at the same time.

You will have no problems using one sata harddrive for everything. The only thing is, you may want to create a partition for the games, but it doesn't imprive speed, just makes it a bit cleaner on your os harddrive.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

4 questions.
#1 On the back of the seagate 80gb sata HD there is 2 places for cables, 1 is for the small cable(sata) and the other is a spot for a wider cable. What is the wider cable for? (I dont even have a cable for that one)
#2 How does the HD get power? from the small sata cable?
#3 How do I make a seperate partition for games and get the games on that partition?
#4 What raid can I set my hard drive up as if I am only using 1?

P.S. I will be getting another hard drive when the money is flowing again and I will set it up as raid 0.
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 01:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

That wider slot is for a sata power cable, if your psu does not have one of them, you will need to get a adapter. They are quite cheap.

#3 You create partitions when installing windows xp.

#4 You can not use RAID with one harddrive.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 04:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Disregard this post
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

that's not true, if his psu has no sata power some SATA drives have connectors for 4 pin molex or w/e, mine's a 120gb WD and has both 4pin and sata power
GageMW is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 04:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

My 80gb sata Seagate does not have a 4 pin input.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 04:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

i said some plus WD r0x0rs seagate, but seagate r0x0rs everyone else
GageMW is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 04:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Missed the word some
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.