Hard drive won't show up!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2004, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default Hard drive won't show up!!

OK i have an 80GB western digital as my primary drive.


I just bought a 200GB Western Digital to use as my slave drive for all my music and stuff like that.


So i installed it on the slave cable thing and set the jumpers the way they were suppose to be.


So i load up the computer and in windows, the new hard drive is not there! I don't know what i went wrong, but the hard drive won't show up on windows.


I checked BIOS and it showed that BOTH of my hard drives are there, just isn't present in windows.


I also emailed western digital, but talk about customer service. lol...
__________________

gsteg is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

format the one that isnt showing up
replug in the cables
set the jumpers
and do the program that cam with the 200 GB HD
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default

that's what i did. i bought the 200gb new and it reformatted when i did the program thing. lol. it even created a new partition for the drive
gsteg is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

you set the jumpers?
did you add to your install of windows or did you reinstall when you got windows?
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default

the jumpers were set to slave.


what do u mean by install of windows?

i have windows on my 80GB already, i just need to 200GB as extra storage? how would i fix that?
gsteg is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

what date windows?
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 06:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

start, control panel, admin tools, computer management

if it show up on your bios it will show up there

click on the drive, it will tell you what you need to do to make the drive recognizable
EricB is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kadahaf
what date windows?
i have windows XP
gsteg is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Does the bios even recognize it?
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
dot
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 96
Default

Go to the bios and make sure that the hard drive is set to boot:

first boot device, second boot device, ext

Make sure also that the bios has auto detected it.
__________________

dot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.