[HARD DRIVE UPGRADE] IBM Think Pad T20 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2004, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default [HARD DRIVE UPGRADE] IBM Think Pad T20

My flatmate have a IBM ThinkPad T20 #2647-byg.

It's currently kicking a 12 Gb hard drive.
Does any one know if it will take a 30 Gb or 40 Gb hard drive.

I am pushing tin as is trying to get a 30Gb Notebook Hard Drive.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd say depending on what you'd use it for, go with the 30 gig drive if you are not a heavy user, and larger if you are.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 01:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ive only ever seen an 80 gig drive for a laptop, in a desktop PC ive seen a 300GB drive for a desktop
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 08:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

I would check either the Comps documentation or IBMs site for the detail specs
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

Yes i have upgraded many T-20s with 30 gb hdds. no problem. I have not put in a 40gb but have been told by IBM there would be no problem.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 12:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I have upgraded a few T20 26478.. in my time. The largest drive that we were able to get them to support without issue were 60gb. the newest could run with the 80gb drives, but some of the earlier models had issue with the 80 units.

Good Luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 04:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by T1junkie
I would check either the Comps documentation or IBMs site for the detail specs
That the problem.
Where abouts on IBMs website does it have info on there older models??? I have been able to find drivers easy enough, but discontinued product specs.... no joy there.

Quote:
Originally posted by tech4hire
Yes i have upgraded many T-20s with 30 gb hdds. no problem. I have not put in a 40gb but have been told by IBM there would be no problem.
Hmmmmm.... should be able to find a 30 Gb.
How ever, if all fails, the guy as told me that an external caddy will do the job too.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.