Hard drive troubles. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 11:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default Hard drive troubles.

Alright. I want to put in this old hard drive which i know works, but i dont get why it isnt for me. I put it in, and after the "dell" loading screen, all i get is a black screen with a flashing dash. I dont get it! Help!

And, then I have this other one, which works also, but since its OS is '98, it always starts off in safe mode, than says something like, "mouse not found, to instal mouse, turn computer off". So i turn it off, and it is still not picking it up, in turn, not alliowing me to do ANYTHING at all.

Can some please help me out here?
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

can you go to the bios section?
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

In Win98 USB devices are loaded automaticly so if you mouse is USB it will not be detected at all. Install a fresh OS on the HDD (Not 98) and see what happens.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

How do i install WinXP? I have the disc, and everything, but once i pop it into the optical drive, it doesnt load it, it just keeps going through that same process.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Is it an upgrade or full install cd (the only difference is that you would have to have the original 98se cd on hand as it will be asked for if your XP cd is an upgrade)? Do this...go into your Cmos and change the first boot device to cdrom then hard disk and finally floppy. Hit F10 and save the bios change and then you will be prompted to boot from cd..do that and then just follow the XP install instructions.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.