Hard drive troubles. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2005, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default Hard drive troubles.

Alright. I want to put in this old hard drive which i know works, but i dont get why it isnt for me. I put it in, and after the "dell" loading screen, all i get is a black screen with a flashing dash. I dont get it! Help!

And, then I have this other one, which works also, but since its OS is '98, it always starts off in safe mode, than says something like, "mouse not found, to instal mouse, turn computer off". So i turn it off, and it is still not picking it up, in turn, not alliowing me to do ANYTHING at all.

Can some please help me out here?

Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474

can you go to the bios section?

nuke is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

In Win98 USB devices are loaded automaticly so if you mouse is USB it will not be detected at all. Install a fresh OS on the HDD (Not 98) and see what happens.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303

How do i install WinXP? I have the disc, and everything, but once i pop it into the optical drive, it doesnt load it, it just keeps going through that same process.
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Is it an upgrade or full install cd (the only difference is that you would have to have the original 98se cd on hand as it will be asked for if your XP cd is an upgrade)? Do this...go into your Cmos and change the first boot device to cdrom then hard disk and finally floppy. Hit F10 and save the bios change and then you will be prompted to boot from cd..do that and then just follow the XP install instructions.
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.