hard-drive trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2004, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default hard-drive trouble

Well i just got a brand new Maxtor 80Gb and ive installed windows on it and some programs for a total of 7gb.But weirdly,the available space displayed is only 45gb.It should be at least 70?
What can be the problem pls?
__________________

mal is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

did u made partitions?

there must be one partition left, that is not yet formatted. thats y not showing up
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

What does it say your total space is?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

well ive reeinstalled windows once ,but it cleaned the first windows and installed a new one.Since that i get these "wrong" informations.Ive reeinstalled often on my old HD and it never did it.IF i would have made a partition by mistake,how can i see it??

beedubaya:total space=76.3
:available=45.2
:used space=31.0

but i dont have for 31 gb of stuff
mal is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Go to your control panel, click administrative tools, click computer management, and in the left-hand sidebar, there should be a disk management option. From there, you can do everything relating to disk partitions.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

mm, mmm, mmm on setup menu, you'll find windowsXP showing partitions,

else, boot ur system with dos prompt.

once on dos prompt, write fdisk

A:\> fdisk

and it'll take into DOS partition program

once in, select option 4

and you'll see partitions
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

He won't have access to fdisk unless he has a startup disk from a previous DOS-based version of Windows, such as Windows 98.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

went in control panel just like you said and all seem ok...only 2 hard-drives,same weird infos.Dunno how to boot in dos with XP.Damn ive only 3 games and winRar installed for 30gb..mmh

ive installed windows on the other HD to format the 80gb,but it said it was impossible
mal is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 01:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

right click on the 2nd drive click delete. after that you right click and select format (ntfs).

when you are done formating set the partition as active
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 02:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

ok i did that vance it worked that time.But when i deleted it i couldnt see it anymore on the list so i couldnt set as active...i reeinstalled it as 'dynamic'. C: still basic...is there a difference between basic and dynamic?
__________________

mal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.