Hard Drive Surgery - Amatuer Doctor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Question Hard Drive Surgery - Amatuer Doctor

You go backpacking for 9 months take 8000 photo's and 5 hours of MP4 video put it onto a new Hard Drive and a week later watch the hard drive die with your stuff inside. The quote for professional recovery is at almost $US1500.

The hard drive (A Western Digital 160G) won't spin-up and when my retailer tried to test it smoke came out when power was put in.

I am thinking the spindle motor is fried, there were no noise, no nothing when it died just quiet death and no spin.
**
Is it possible to remove the platters from this drive and install them in an identical new drive to solve the problem long enough to get my data back.

Does anyone know the steps in doing this? Anything special I need? Am I in way over my head?
**
Would hugely appreciate any help or references. Thanks an US1500.
__________________

snappy is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yep you reinstall the platters into a new drive, basicly a swap.

To properly do this you need a CLEAN ROOM. Doing this without a clean room you run a HIGH risk of ruining the drive.

Search around, unless you have a clean room this is not something you should handle.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default

OMG snappy.

My stomach churned reading that.

So sorry man, that's aweful. I cant even imagine. Good luck with the recovery!
eipeks is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

i wouldn't recommend doing this. There is almost no way of not letting the heads touch the platters if you move them. They platters and heads are so close to each other that the touch of a finger would probably make them touch. They dont physically touch the platters, but are extremely close... so close that a strand of hair would not fit between them. Also, if ONE... JUST ONE spec of dust so much as touches a platter... its done. If not done immediately, it will be soon... very soon.

If you can possibly pull that off without professional help, then you MAY get it to work and MAY get the drive to work JUST long enough to get your data. Very small chance of success though...

sad story :-(
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

It takes time to destroy a HDD with one small spec of dust, hell i found one with out the cover coverd in dust and it still worked for 10 min
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the distance between the heads and the platter are actually so close, not even a smoke particle could fit between it, and smoke is smaller than dust which is smaller than hair

You get the idea.

Sooo yeah basically you can't swap out those platters, if smoke came out of your HD, that smoke probably ruined the platters
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Im sure theres a way to recover the data, just cost so much its not worth it......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 06:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

But you can just swap out the motor on some hard drives cant you?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 07:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

sucks dude

i feel for you

im gonna cry
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 07:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

No because the platters sit right on top of the motor, and there are usualy 8 hex screws holding the platters down and there extremly hard to turn.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.