Hard drive sizes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2005, 03:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default Hard drive sizes

What is the standard hard drive size in inches for a conventional HDD? In a desktop computer, that is to say...
__________________

B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

3.5......
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

thank you...........
__________________
Minneapolis Computer Repair http://altrepair.com
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Yea man 3.5 is the standard size
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 07:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

...which is the same as a floppy drive. 2½" is the standard for laptops. Thought I'd post some excess information.
rememberme is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 08:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

desktop hard drives: 3.5"
laptop hard drives: 2.5"
CDROM drives: 5.25"
most floppies: 3.5"
some older floppies are 5.25"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

3.5 vrs 2.5 laptop
deso is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to ebayfreak Send a message via Yahoo to ebayfreak
Default

theres always those adapters you can use tho if you're trying to play with different size slots/drives
ebayfreak is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

3.5" is the platter size.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 06:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Not allways.... Some HDD's ive seen with extremly small ones, but on others i see normal ones...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.