hard drive qustion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2004, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to blu98cvc
Default hard drive qustion

i have seen this before but i have a question on SATA drives is it possible to you a ata drive as the operating system and have a SATA drive as secondary for everything els eif so how would i do this i know this has been talked about alot sorry if im repeating also my motherboard came with its drivers on a disk not a floppy so how can i load third party drivers if i cant use a cd i have a Soyo SY-KT600 Dragon Plus v 2.0 mother board im not really sure how to load SATA drivers so i can run xp pro on it thats why i was considering a standard ata drive for op system
__________________

blu98cvc is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to blu98cvc
Default SATA

any advise on this at all im pretty stumped here
__________________

blu98cvc is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

i think that if you just keep your current ide hd where it iss (the one with the current os on it) and then you can just connect your sata hd to sata 1 instead of sata 0.. then when you start up windows if it does not read the sata drive just use ur cd and load the drivers for the raid controller.. restart.. and it should show .. you can also create a partition of ur sata drive either with windows XP setup OR fdisk Or ur raid controller OR a software program such as partition magic... if u want me to clear something up just ask
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to blu98cvc
Default

thanks got a question i only have sata 1 and sata 2 not sata zero on this motherboard
blu98cvc is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

or if you want to have ur sata hd as the drive from which u load from just take ur cd to another ocmputer.. and have a blank disketee with u and just copy ur chipset drivers for ur raid controller onto the diskette (you would look into your chipset folder as u have an onboard raid controller) then when you load ur windows installation just go thru the instructions that are there at the top for setting up ur sata hd and ud have ur drivers on ur diskette taht you can use when you need them
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to blu98cvc
Default

thatnks ill give it a try
blu98cvc is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

o well then sata 1 is the bootable one and sata 2 is the one that u want
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

if it doesnt work then just post and ill try to help as far as i know
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.