Hard drive question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2003, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Default Hard drive question

My computer came with only a 13G hard drive. I installed a 40G as a slave. The 40 is running as drive D. My question is this: Can I copy the contents of C to the new HD, and simply switch the Master/slave config, or if I switch these will I have to reinstall my OS?
__________________

TattooingSC is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

No good.

In order to succesfully copy the drives they have to be the same size. Why? Becuase in order for your OS to boot you also need to copy your drives Master Boot Record. The problem is, the MBR also holds the info on how big your dirve is, how big your partitions are, things like that. So unless you can edit (and you can, but not fun) your MBR, you might as well just re-install Linux, I mean Windowz.

Remember that Win is touchy anyway. Don't give it a reason to break down on you.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 12:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

You can use a tool like Ghost to do a disk to disk copy. Ghost will reconfig the MBR so that it works for the new drive as well. Then just delete all the old stuff from the little drive...
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

yea ghost is good
copys the whole thing.. i can send u a copy that fits in a floppy disk if interested.
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Default

So If I use Ghost to copy the drive, I can then just switch Master/slave and it'll boot up?
TattooingSC is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Yup! That is the really cool thing about it. It's like a copy, but it takes everything and works from DOS on almost any partition type NTFS included...
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

i think it is best to just go with a fresh install, les hasle and not that hard at all. just take out teh 13 gig drive and put the 40 as master, format it and put the 13 back in as slave, copy all files over u want backed up, format the 13 gig and use it as storage

Ches
have ag reat day
__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 08:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Default

ok, the hard drive thing is the least of my troubles now. I'm on my gf's computer now, as it appears I've fried my motherboard.
I had a feeling I was jumping inside the case too soon, but I figured I couldnt harm the old 450mhz, and so what if I did?
Live and learn, right?
Yes, I'm sure the MB is fried, it doesn't even beep when I pull the memory out.
I guess my next question, since I have all these parts, is what motherboard type will be compatible with what I've got? I just bought a Santa Cruz Turtle beach sound card, and a Nvidea g-force2 video card, and have a 256 mb PC133 memory stick.
I'm here for your amusement, so dont be shy. I couldn't tell one motherboard from another.
TattooingSC is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 09:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

Hey spfd, i am interested in the ghost copy.
__________________

__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.