Hard drive question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
Default Hard drive question

I'm building my dad a new computer. His current comp is about 7 years old and I was practicly begging him to let me build him a new one. Anyway, I'm putting an SATA hard drive in his new one, but he wants some info from his old computer on the new one (of course). His old comp has an IDE hd.

So my question is, is it possible to put in the new SATA hd as the master and the old IDE as a slave just copy stuff from one to the other? Would there be any issues with having his old OS on the slave drive, or would having an OS on the master just bypass the OS on the slave?


Thanks,
static244
__________________

static244 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 11:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

build the new one and then transfer stuff over the network to the new one. if you don't have a hub use a crossover cable (google it for a diagram, easiliy done from any network cable) as for the method you suggested it should work, you wouldn't have any problems with 2 os's if one is set to master and one to slave. the master will boot and you can see the files of the other hd on "My Computer" only thing is if its 7 years old im not sure how much ide has changed over the years of how faster its gotten but it can't hurt to try. if anything it will just not recognize it.
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 04:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i dont think you will run into any problems putting both HDD's into the same computer and then just transfering the files over via cut/paist

i put an old 2gb HDD from 1991 into my computer and it recognized it fine.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 04:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

he is only putting a new SATA hard drive, not building a new computer

you can't just copy the files over, there is also the registry data and such.
I would actually suggest putting the IDE as master, and using the SATA drive as extra storage
or you could ghost the old hard drive using Norton Ghost (the only Symantec product I'd recommend) and 'restore' it to the new SATA hard drive. although it might be difficult, because it needs SATA drivers
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 04:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
he is only putting a new SATA hard drive, not building a new computer

you can't just copy the files over, there is also the registry data and such.
I would actually suggest putting the IDE as master, and using the SATA drive as extra storage
or you could ghost the old hard drive using Norton Ghost (the only Symantec product I'd recommend) and 'restore' it to the new SATA hard drive. although it might be difficult, because it needs SATA drivers
No, thats not what he's doing.. you read it wrong.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 05:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to wueddie
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
he is only putting a new SATA hard drive, not building a new computer

you can't just copy the files over, there is also the registry data and such.
I would actually suggest putting the IDE as master, and using the SATA drive as extra storage
or you could ghost the old hard drive using Norton Ghost (the only Symantec product I'd recommend) and 'restore' it to the new SATA hard drive. although it might be difficult, because it needs SATA drivers
I suggect you use the Ghost 7.0 or 6.0 (support NTFS!!)
Because i try to use the 8.0 before , it doesn't work completely
for restore job.
wueddie is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 05:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

OMG, now that I read again.... how could I miss that?
I read "I'm putting an SATA hard drive in" and the last paragraph

if you have 2 bootable hard drives, it depends on the boot order
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 07:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah you have to set the SATA to boot order and your fine.

Don't expect to use the operating system off the IDE drive, windows will become fubar'ed in the new computer.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for the replies!

I am actually building an new comp for my dad. Once I get the files from his old computer onto the new one, the old one will pretty much be scrap.

static244
static244 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 04:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

The cut and past scenario is the easiest. Just build the new puter and complete the installation of the OS. Power it down and insert the old IDE hd set to slave and the SATA drive to master. Copy all the files from the old IDE to the New. Power down. Pull to old IDE and sell it on Ebay.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.