hard drive question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2004, 10:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

woah i just read on the thing that it transfers data at UP TO 40 megs a sec, isnt that REALLY slow?
__________________

sniffmypoo is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

last 2 are PCI cards, the part coming out is I think for external SCSI cable.

and also, as I told in 1st link, this I have seen a new thing, it must be better, that you only connect this things behind the SCSI and use normal IDE cables.

if u have account on eBay, ask that seller questions about this thing as well.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 11:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Default

ok, thanks for the info/links/advice, helped a lot

i have a new question though

if i was to get 2 of these http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...151-023&depa=1
what would i have to do to get them in RAID 0?
sniffmypoo is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 11:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

why r u running after RAID if you dont have server? making arrays of H/D wont bring any significant difference on ur system performance.

though for your inforamation:

i'm using same 10,000 RPM drive from W/D but on S-ATA interface.

and as far as RAID 0 is concerned, its available on Motherboard BIOS. if u have new motherboard, it'll show up RAID configuration. and RAID makes ur 1 hard drive totally unusable (menas 2 X 36 = u r left with 36 only, as RAID actually makes mirroe of hard drive on othe as well, used in servers, as if one fails, other works) there nothing special,about it.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.