Hard Drive question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2004, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default Hard Drive question

Ok if you're changing out your harddrives but you still wanna keep some files/games/whatever on your older harddrive how do you swith them from your old Harddrive to your new one?

I've figured out that you could just write whatever you want to a crap load of CDS, however is there another way?
__________________

Logster1813 is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 03:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 354
Default

Simple, can't you just set one as master and slave on your IDE cable, you'll have C: and D: under My Computer. Then just copy/paste your old files over to the new drive. New drive has to be formatted and with the same OS of course.
__________________

__________________
<font face=\"arial\" color=\"#414D6A\" size=\"1\">PC SPECS:</font>
<font face=\"arial\" size=\"1\">
AMD Bartion 2500+ 1800Mhz
ASUS A7V8X-X
PC2100 256Mb DDRAM x 2
LG 52x24x52 CD
Seagate 80Gb 7200rpm 2Mb
ATI Radeon 9550 256Mb 8x
Intergrated PCI sound
17\" Samsung LCD 173s
</font>
Ken Masters is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

well u cant do that for everything.. some things u cant go and transfer. It wont let you.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 06:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 57
Default

I used wd data lifguard tools to tranfer things over it came with my HD. Did you geta disk with your hd? Theris tools of software programs you can buy to do this.
__________________
P4 2.8 HT Prescott, DDR400 256mb Dual Channel, 120GB HD @7200 rpm, 80GB HD @7200rpm, 16X DVD, 4X DVDR, 480W PSU.
magnum70 is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 06:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Im talking hypathetically im working on being a computer technician and if someone wanted me to replace their harddrive but keep the samethings on their old harddrive how i would go about this.
Logster1813 is offline  
Old 05-30-2004, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 57
Default

Use some type of software. What your talking about I did. Transferd windows and everything It's a HD copy!
__________________
P4 2.8 HT Prescott, DDR400 256mb Dual Channel, 120GB HD @7200 rpm, 80GB HD @7200rpm, 16X DVD, 4X DVDR, 480W PSU.
magnum70 is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 01:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks man, however i have one question. What would be a brand name of this type of software?
__________________

Logster1813 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.