Hard Drive Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2004, 09:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Laser
Angry Hard Drive Problems

I have a 120 gb hard drive that one day decided to show up as only having 31.4 gb's. I had taken the drive out and let a friend borrow it and when i got it back the problems started. It worked like normal a few times, but recently it has been the same old problem. I have tried a few things, like maxtor's powermax program and windows disk check, none of them come back with any problems. my bios is even recognizing it has only being 31.4 gb's. I had files on it, but now i can't access them, it is just a blank 31.4 gb's. If anyone could help me try to solve this problem i would appreciate it.
__________________

__________________
If it aint broke, fix it till it is.
---------------------------------
System Specs
MSI K8N Platinum
Athlon64 3500+ Skt. 939
Corsair TwinX 3200 1GB Dual Channel
2 80GB SATA 150 in Raid0
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
Sapphire ATI Radeon x850XT
Sony 48x12x48x16 CDRW/DVD Combo
Laser is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 02:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to seCuredData Send a message via Yahoo to seCuredData
Default

Hello.
What operating system is being run on it?
I had the same problem with the FAT32 file system.
When installing Windows XP on the hard drive using NTFS the original size was shown and allocated.

Does it only come up as 31.4 gigs, or is it actually only 31.4 gigs?

It may have been dropped while your friend was borrowing it.

And is your signature the system the harddrive is being run on?
__________________

seCuredData is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 02:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think he must have put the jumper (or at least A jumper) over the "limit drive size to 32GB" pins at the back
it shows as 31.4GB because all hard drive's actually turn out to be a little bit less than they have been marked to be
my 40GB drive is 37.2GB in Windows
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I think he must have put the jumper (or at least A jumper) over the "limit drive size to 32GB" pins at the back
it shows as 31.4GB because all hard drive's actually turn out to be a little bit less than they have been marked to be
my 40GB drive is 37.2GB in Windows

Win only show your HDD got 37.2Gb because the 2.8Gb left already been allocated win files and driver.
didi is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 09:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

It could be a manufacturer defect, have you tried calling there support number?
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Laser
Default

Alright i messed around with the jumpers and still no luck. the info for my computer is not the same as the signature, i'm using a friends login. my computer is an 2600 xp, biostar motherboard, 768 mb ddr, a 10 gb maxtor, 120 gb western digital and the problem hard drive is a 120 gb maxtor diamond. the weird thing about the problem is that after i let my friend borrow it, it would work sporadically, which makes me think it wasnt dropped or damaged. I have no other ideas of what it could be. i've tried it on my raid card and on the mobo's ide's, but no luck either way. both the raid and mobo bios read it as only 31.4 too, so it's not just a windows problem. i have tried all jumper settings, and all different spots on the ide cable. i may end up calling maxtor and seeing what they can tell me, thanks though for everyone's ideas.
__________________

__________________
If it aint broke, fix it till it is.
---------------------------------
System Specs
MSI K8N Platinum
Athlon64 3500+ Skt. 939
Corsair TwinX 3200 1GB Dual Channel
2 80GB SATA 150 in Raid0
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
Sapphire ATI Radeon x850XT
Sony 48x12x48x16 CDRW/DVD Combo
Laser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.