hard drive problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2004, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default hard drive problem?

hi all,
i recently had a hard drive problem... on startup i would get an error disc drive has volume error...and it would not start in safe mode.

after formatting my hard drive and reinstalling windows xp pro
the computer seems to work fine but on startup after all the startup tests and other information...the screen goes blank for about 30-60 secs then the bar at the bottom scrolls across quite slowly... is my hard drive on its way out?

fujitsu 40mb ide
windows xp pro

any help appreciated
__________________

andyshep is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 10:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

No, just a slow PC, ive had it a couple times, it did it on one of my PC, and my other identical PC was fine. I never did sort out this problem, and changing hard drives did not solve the problem.
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

It does sound like it.
Run a Checkdisk. This creates a log file that identifies any bad spots on the hard disk. That way you will know if there are problems...
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 11:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default hi again

its not a slow pc..

its only recently started doing it

abit vp6 mobo
2x pentium3 1ghz

should not be that slow...
i have run a chkdsk but where do i find the log file?
andyshep is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 11:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default hi again

i have run
diskmgmt.msc and it tells me the disk is healthy

:amazed:

chkdsk tells me i have 324kb in bad sectors
:amazed:

seems the disk is ok but......... why oh why..

andyshep is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Default

Keep your data backed up or off the hard drive.
Your post indicates hard drive failure.

Download from here:

http://www.fujitsu.com/au/support/hdd/drivers/

the utility to run diagonsis on H/D.
billzhills is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 12:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default hi again

since my last post ive installed a spare h/drive i had ...

this solved the problem of the slow boot up but............

usually when the system boots up it shows cpu details i.e.
pentium 3 (2 cpus)

and then checks the memory..

now on occasions it doesn't do this but windows starts fine..

also now and again it freezes on startup....

i am begining to think maybee its the mobo

are there any ulilitys anywhere to test mobos?

its an ABIT VP6 dual board?

help please got 2x websites to build next week and no pc


thx all andy
__________________

andyshep is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.