Hard Drive prob - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2004, 11:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 134
Default Hard Drive prob

Hi

Just installed a second hard drive and it cant be seen in MY COMPUTER. It is being regonised by the bois in post, and even when i go to device manager. When i click on the properties of the of the hard disk in device manager i can't assign a drive letter to it.

What the hell is going on!!

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
>>AMD Athlon64 3500+ *NewCastle*
>>ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800PRO
>>1gb Corsair XMS TwinX 3200XLPRO
>>256mb Saphire Radeon X800PRO
>>160gb Maxtor Hard Disk
>>52X Plextor CDRW
>>12x Plextor DVD-R
>>Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
>>Creative Labs Gigaworks 7.1
Carniva is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Default

Is it formatted?
__________________

wizorez is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 12:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

Did you install the software that came with it, that will walk you through the format process and make it visible to the comp.
chog is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Are you in the device manager or in the disk manager?

Make sure you're in the disk manager. You get there like this (assuming you're using XP or Win2k) Right Click on My computer -> Manage -> Storage -> Disk Management

While in there, find the new drive. Right click on the gray bar on the left and choose Assign ID or something to that effect (I don't remeber the exact menu option). Then right click on the right side and format the drive.

Viola, you should be set to go!
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 134
Default

yes it is formatted, and i am not using win xp or 2000, i am currently using 98
__________________
>>AMD Athlon64 3500+ *NewCastle*
>>ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800PRO
>>1gb Corsair XMS TwinX 3200XLPRO
>>256mb Saphire Radeon X800PRO
>>160gb Maxtor Hard Disk
>>52X Plextor CDRW
>>12x Plextor DVD-R
>>Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
>>Creative Labs Gigaworks 7.1
Carniva is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Is the hard drive compatible with 98? Have u installed the CD properly.
__________________
<img src=\"http://www.90minut.pl/logo/world/clubs/eng_mu.gif\"0\" alt=\"\"><font
<center><marquee width=60%><font face=\"verdana\" size=\"1\" color=\"#000000\" style=\"filter: glow(color=#ffcc00,strength=2); width: 100%;padding:3px\";>Manchester United-THE RED DEVILS!
Who\'s that team they call United?, Who\'s that team they all adore? They\'re the boys in red and white And they play with all their might,And they\'re out to show the world how they can score! So bring on Sunderland and Arsenal, Bring on Spaniards by the score, Barcelona, Real Madrid, They may make a gallant bid, But they\'ll only find the reason why we roar.
</marquee></center>
AlexRider_MI6 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Is it FAT32 or NTFS?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.