hard drive noise - ide cable or faulty? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2004, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default hard drive noise - ide cable or faulty?

My machine is quite old and recently had my hard drive crash, making loads of noise. Turned off the machine and went to get it fixed but the hard drive was screwed and they couldn't recover any data. Lesson learnt, do backups.

So they installed a new hard drive which didn't work first of all, seemed to be incompatible with my machine, couldn't find the operating system. They put a different one in and that worked.

I now have a 'Hitachi 41.1GB UDMA/100 7200RPM 2MB IDE'
http://www.compgeeks.com/details.asp...7N9218&cat=HDD

I am running Win XP Pro on an Intel P3 666mhz, with 266MB ram. Motherboard is a QDI Advance 9. I have the hard drive on primary master and an internal zip on primary slave. on secondary master i have my cdrom drive and secondary slave my cd-rw.

My problem, the hard drive is making some odd noises. Nothing loud like when it crashed, more of a small whining sound every so often.

My question really is, is it that the hard drive is faulty or that my machine isn't compatible with this hard drive?

When I am booting up, I see this error:

"Primary IDE Channel no 80 conductor cable installed"

A bit of google searching and I've found that my hard drive is udma and that i am using a 40-conductor cable.

Do you think that the noise could be to do with using an older ide cable?

Do you think if I get a 80-conductor ide able it might solve the problem?

Will my motherboard allow me to use an 80-conductor cable?


Any advice you can give me would be great as if its faulty it needs to go back before the warranty is up or before it crashes.


Thanks
__________________

chriso is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

26MB is just not enough RAM to run Windows XP. In fact I've never heard of a computer having that amount..hehe. No wonder your HD is grinding away..lol.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

wat thy mean is... win xp pro should have at lease 128mbs of ram... if you only have 24mb's then windows is probably using a lot of 'paging files'.... paging files are a part of your harddrive that windows usess like ram, with only 24mbs i imajine its constantly accessing and writing or rewriting paging files
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 09:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

yup^
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 12:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

At least 256MB ram if u want to run Window XP properly
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

my friend is usin an old pentium II, with 16 mb ram and running windows xp...a bit slow but still works descently.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

whatever floats your boat i guess not something i would do.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 01:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I wouldn't even run Windows 98 in 26MB, it needs at least 32. Windows 95 is cheap these days, why don't you put that sucker on your system.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 01:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

ummm . . . could it be that its a typo . . . and that it really mean 256?

he could be just missing the five . . .

i mean . . . how do you get 26mb? 2+8+16?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 01:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

dunno my friend has 3 ram chips in and its only givin him 16mb
__________________

__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.