Hard Drive Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Question Hard Drive Issue

I have a brand new computer i just put together. I got a 160 WD 7200rpm sata drive. Now; my BIOS is reading the drive 160 but when i boot to the os (xp Pro) it is only reading 127. I work for Computer MD and my boss was stumped to. I want to thank anyone in advanced for taking thier time to answer my question. (Heres my specs if it helps.)

MSI K8Neo4 Platnium nForce 4 Ultra Chipset
AMD Athalon 3000 (x64)
2 sticks of Kingston 512mb pc3200 ddr400
160gb wd 7200rpm sata
nVida 6600gt PCIEx16 VGA
__________________

DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

did you partition the drive when installing windows??
__________________

xotix is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

If you mean create a Partition. then yes
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

install service pack one or 2, that should solve ur problem.
xotix is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

already installed sp2 did not change a thing
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 10:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190
Default

You need a special pci card or software for windows to recognize a hard drive bigger than 127 gb. I have a maxtor that I had the same problem with.
Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

do you know what i need to get?
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 10:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

You need to install 48bit LBA support.

http://seagate.com/support/disc/utils.html

Get Reg48bitLBA for Windows XP SP1 and Windows 200 SP3, even though you have sp2 already.
Him is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 11:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

my sig is wrong i have a Western digital hard drive do you know about that one too?
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 11:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Probably just driver support; check WD's website.
I have Win XP Pro and I didn't need anything special besides drivers for Windows to recognize my 160GB Samsung SATA.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.