Hard Drive Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Foyman

In Runtime
hello, what I would like to do would be to store my OS and Games on my SATA WD Raptor 10k rpm, and then store all the other stuff on a WD Caviar SE 80gig 7200rpm, Im new to the whole computer building scene and would like to know how I would go about setting the two HDD's up to do what I would like.

If you could explain, how I would setup the 80gig drive being that it is for storage of videos, music, and other stuff like that, and what form would it need to be in? eg. NTFS, FAT32, FAT?

Thanks

If you put your OS on your Raptor, and your games and files on the 80GB 7200rpm HD, then that would give you the best performance overall.

As long as you have a decent amount of RAM (512MB or 1GB), you should have fast game-loading times.

Also, use NTFS. NTFS is more efficient than FAT32. Also, NTFS allows you to place permissions on files (if you want to).

I have operated for a long time under the impression that all program execut. files must be resident on the master (SATA or PATA)? So you can demand at windows install which drive the execut. file is located? I also assume that the program file list in start only was executed form the master? If not, I'll not be glad to be ignorant and very interested in who to accomplish this task.

RicoDirenzo said:
I have operated for a long time under the impression that all program execut. files must be resident on the master (SATA or PATA)? So you can demand at windows install which drive the execut. file is located? I also assume that the program file list in start only was executed form the master? If not, I'll not be glad to be ignorant and very interested in who to accomplish this task.

You can install Windows on a slave drive. It doesnt have to be the master.

Also, SATA doesnt use Master/Slave configurations.