Hard Drive Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default Hard Drive Help

hello, what I would like to do would be to store my OS and Games on my SATA WD Raptor 10k rpm, and then store all the other stuff on a WD Caviar SE 80gig 7200rpm, Im new to the whole computer building scene and would like to know how I would go about setting the two HDD's up to do what I would like.

If you could explain, how I would setup the 80gig drive being that it is for storage of videos, music, and other stuff like that, and what form would it need to be in? eg. NTFS, FAT32, FAT?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What operating system?

Windows 95/98 - FAT32
Windows 2000/XP - NTFS
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 03:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

It's XP
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

If you put your OS on your Raptor, and your games and files on the 80GB 7200rpm HD, then that would give you the best performance overall.

As long as you have a decent amount of RAM (512MB or 1GB), you should have fast game-loading times.

Also, use NTFS. NTFS is more efficient than FAT32. Also, NTFS allows you to place permissions on files (if you want to).
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I have operated for a long time under the impression that all program execut. files must be resident on the master (SATA or PATA)? So you can demand at windows install which drive the execut. file is located? I also assume that the program file list in start only was executed form the master? If not, I'll not be glad to be ignorant and very interested in who to accomplish this task.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
I have operated for a long time under the impression that all program execut. files must be resident on the master (SATA or PATA)? So you can demand at windows install which drive the execut. file is located? I also assume that the program file list in start only was executed form the master? If not, I'll not be glad to be ignorant and very interested in who to accomplish this task.
You can install Windows on a slave drive. It doesnt have to be the master.

Also, SATA doesnt use Master/Slave configurations.

And, If using a SATA and PATA HD, it doesnt really matter where the OS gets installed. In this case, the SATA is 10k rpm and will yield fast OS reponse.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
If you put your OS on your Raptor, and your games and files on the 80GB 7200rpm HD, then that would give you the best performance overall.

As long as you have a decent amount of RAM (512MB or 1GB), you should have fast game-loading times.

Also, use NTFS. NTFS is more efficient than FAT32. Also, NTFS allows you to place permissions on files (if you want to).
Like I said I'm new to this so sorry if this sounds dumb, but I could install my games on the 80gig and I am still able to run the game on the raptor and benifit from it on the load times and stuff?, how does that work?

Also do I need to install XP PRo on the 80 gig or do I jsut format and partition it?
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Could anybody help me out wit the question above ^^^^^
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 12:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

When you install games on the 80GB as compared to the Raptor, you'll get the benefit of the Raptor not having to serve the OS's requests as well as the games.

Games' performance doesnt really get improved by a fast hard drive. The only difference you would probably notice would be when a level, etc is loading.

Because the OS is still running as you play a game, it's still nice to have a separate HD for each, so that one hard drive can service requests for data from the OS, and the other for the game.

No, you just install XP on your Raptor. When you boot off of your WinXP CD, you will get a choice of which of the 2 drives to install windows to. You can choose either one, but the Raptor is gonna be the better choice. You do not have to install any form of Windows on the 80GB drive as well as the Raptor.

When you finish installing Windows, and boot into it, Windows will recognize the second hard drive (which will be unpartitioned as well as unformatted). From within Windows, you can then partition and format the second drive.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 01:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Ok, great, thanks for all your help, it's much appreciated.
__________________

__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.