hard drive failure? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2005, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default hard drive failure?

so i just reformatted today after waking up to a missing dll error. no biggy, a lil annoying, but again no biggy.

now after reformatting, i got the same error again, only this time after restarting, i got my machine back up. any suggestions? HDD Failure? besides that i am clueless.

thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Turn on S.M.A.R.T in BIOS and see what it tells you.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
Turn on S.M.A.R.T in BIOS and see what it tells you.
what exactly does that do?
ive heard of it but i dont think ive ever used it.
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

ok i guess its a diag tool. seems fine, drive passed all tests from WD's tool.

should i leave this on? it seemed that my system booted up quicker with it on too. does it hurt anything?
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320
Default

Smart is a very bad way to see if the hdd is goina die.

Best way is loop a sis softsandra on a hdd benchmark overnight, If the machine reboots it self of the hdd fails your hdd is bad. (Or if it reboots and tells you files are missing again)

edit: Nvm you ran wd's dignostic utility it should be enough (I would still loop a high stress test overnight)
__________________
Grayfox is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

ok so what about leaving it on? (SMART), does it damage anything?
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

What .dll was it?

hal.dll?

Leave SMART on, no harm and it's great
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

gopcha
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

S.M.A.R.T is good, but not 100% reliable. It is always a good idea to have it turned on anyways.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 05:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it is peculiar that after a reformat exactly the same error would pop up. i don't think the hdd could be at fault. what exactly did u do. did u backup and copy files back to the hdd?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.