Hard drive failure? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2004, 03:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

roger that!
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 07:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I just reformatted my hard drive. I'm going to link it back up
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 07:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I'm must have sign in at dummy site (not superhost). it don't work anymore. wierd sites are coming up now when i click on links to other things while my wife is sign in on yahoo.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 12:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Does reformating too often damage a drive?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 12:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I HAVE AN EXTRMELY SIMILAR ISSUE IN MY NEW POST! It was almost exactly like you explained it only with a maxtor 20GB HD. I went to staples and bought the 80GB but the buzzing is still there! It doesnt run slower so I am thinking it's a bad fan, but I have no experience in that area and I have no clue how to get/install/find a new fan. I don't even know where or which fan it'd be. Any help on this or my thrread would be appreciated.

Also this link should work for powermax:

http://downloads.maxtor.com/_files/m...s/powermax.exe
Straafe is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 12:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE
Does reformating too often damage a drive?
My mind changes like the weather. I reformatted probably a million times

thanks for the link. I didn't know maxtor had one
EricB is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 12:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Ok started it up again and got a TERRIBLE grinding noise... Could it really be a fan...I'm dying for assistance here..
Straafe is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 01:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Straafe, a few things you can do to find out, first unplug your fans, except for your cpu one, and when its booting up or running put your hand on the hard drive and see if you can feel it when its making that noise.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 01:16 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Default

That soudns logical...but how do I unplug my fans?
Straafe is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:39 AM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Pull the plug
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.