Hard Drive Error Checking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default Hard Drive Error Checking

I have a few questions on hard drives:
1.) Do they have some sort of built in error checking?
2.) Do they verify their writes (ie do they write data then veryify it)
3.) Is there a good, free, and compete HD diagnostic and testing utility that boots of a CD?

I ask because I have a few questionable drives (oldish, perhaps damaged due to my carelessness) That I want to check, as I will be putting unbacked up data on them.
__________________

digitaloracle is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

It depends mostly on the operating system you'll be using. Windows, for example, enforces it's own files sytem on the hard drive. You can simply use the in built tools such as CHKDSK and DEFRAG to ensure your HDD is healthy. Really, that should be all you need to do. There is however, the isue of mechanical faults, however because you can't crack open a HDD to check, you'll have to rely on things like overheating, strange sounds and fireworks in your system'd case .
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i never used HD Tools, but i did save these links from somewere incase i ever needed a starting point....

All the Hard Drive Tools You'll Ever Need
http://www.benchmarkhq.ru/be_hdd.html http://sac-ftp.externet.hu/utildisk1.html http://www.wtysoft.com/product.htm
Driveletter Assigment:http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=307844
Better Disk Formatter: ftp://ftp.externet.hu/pub/mirror/sac...k/bdformat.zip
Disk Analysis: http://www.mhdd.com/files/mhdd/mhdd29.zip http://www.dfsee.com/dfsee/dfsee6xx.zip
S.M.A.R.T: http://www.sysinfolab.com/files/smartudm.zip http://www.panterasoft.com/download/hhealth.exe
Disk Wiping: http://www.geocities.com/thestarman3.../WIPE.html#LLF http://www.jetico.com/bcwipe.exe
Low Level Format: ftp://ftp.externet.hu/pub/mirror/sac...isk/lowfmt.zip http://download2.lsoft.net/killdisk.zip
Partition Managers: http://www.ranish.com/part/ http://zeleps.com/ http://www.powerquest.com/
Data Recovery Programs: http://www.quetek.com/ http://www.runtime.org/ http://www.z-a-recovery.com/
Acoustic Management (Reduce Drive Noise)http://www.hitachigst.com/downloads/ftool_ver194.exe
-----------------------------------
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
--------------------------------
you can also prolly check the manufaturers website

EDIT: i think someone once said that HD's do have a built in verifying proccess, but i dont now anything about it, like how that may vary on old drives.

since i have a WD, iv used Westerndigitals Datalife gaurd tool, for drive to drive copy functions, because it verifys as it copys, so it will report if theres any errors during the proccess. its free for download at there site, and im guessing it can be used with any drive, not just WD.

for any specific file u wont to keep verifyed from corruption, u can google "easy sfv creator" its a free program that creats a crc, or hash(or watever its called i dont know).sfv file witch u can run at any time to error check the file.
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

hash is the term I have heard for that sort of verification
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.