hard drive data transfer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44
Default hard drive data transfer

my mom has a old dell pc and wants to transfer all of the data from her old HD to her new portable hd. what's the best way to do this?
__________________

__________________
antec 900
corasir hx 620W
gigabyte p35 ds3r
q6600 + tuniq tower
seagate 320gb
evga 8800gts 640mb
lite on dvd drive
patriot extreme 2x1gig
mass0ver is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 08:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: hard drive data transfer

Do you have a router? If not, a crossover cable will do. Or if you want to spend a few bucks, try this.
ThinkGeek :: USB Data Link Transfer Cable
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44
Default Re: hard drive data transfer

I do indeed have a router. however,the other computer is usable at the moment. I have no monitor, keyboard, or mouse to use. I'm wondering if I could just buy one of those cables...I'd power on the computer and connect the computers via the usb ports. But do you think I'd have to run a program on the other computeR? or can it all be done on my mom's laptop?
__________________
antec 900
corasir hx 620W
gigabyte p35 ds3r
q6600 + tuniq tower
seagate 320gb
evga 8800gts 640mb
lite on dvd drive
patriot extreme 2x1gig
mass0ver is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: hard drive data transfer

It works from one computer. No software that I am aware of. Probably need to hook a keyboard to the other computer. Some won't boot without one.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Can we recover data from formatted hard drive? terrytree Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-26-2007 09:26 PM
Hard Drive may be DAMAGE, trying to get data off an old hard drive. help! yaminohaka Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 07-24-2007 09:56 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.