Hard drive data lost? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2004, 03:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

No hold up, I think it's called Easy Recovery, but I don't think it was from Ontrack.com.....it was some other website......oh right it was:

EasyRecovery Pro v6.03 from Ontrack.com so I guess Ontrack was right. There's also Recover4All Pro, Acronis Recovery Expert Deluxe, & Final Recovery. EasyRecovery is probably one if not THE best
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:02 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I checked out ontrack.com and saw that EasyRecovery Pro was $499 (!). Is there a less expensive option?
__________________

tijon is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Here's an update for anyone who cares. I have acquired a copy of EasyRecovery Pro and have run the program. It seems to have successfully recovered all the files from the drive. However, it wasn't able to preserve the file names nor the directories they were in so none of the programs I was running off that drive will be usable (big deal, just re-install them). But it did appear to retrieve all my pics and mp3s. Now on to the daunting task of renaming and reorganizing all those files!

ekÆsine, interesting suggestion about a virus being the source of the problem. I'll have to be more vigilant about running my anti-virus.

Thanks to all that replied.
tijon is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 10:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default Almost Same Problem

I have a Maxtor 160 that just died. Same sysmptoms. Running XP Home w/SP2 on 3 PC net. Ran a Nero BU from PC "B" to "A" (where drive is) and 160 drive is suddenly gone. No spin but is seen by BIOS - is NOT seen in Explorer. Data recovery software can see the drive but recovers nothing. A hex dump results in a zero byte file because platters are not spinning. I don't understand how the BIOS can see the drive but Explorer cannot. Have swapped all cables and into 3 diff boxes..... no luck. Wonder if I attach to a 98SE box I might get it to be read??? Any insight appreciated.
---GRIFF
griff4345 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Are you sure you didnt screw up or delete any partitions??????
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I had a guy who had that problem. He had a bad hard drive. every time he format it would lose the data in a few days. his was an 80 gig samsumg though.

I suspect those maxtor 160's has a defect in them
EricB is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Positive I didn't delete any partitions. Hooked her up to a 98SE and took a peek today with FDISK........... nothing there but BIOS still sees the drive. So it looks like a new drive install with a format but no partitions defined. Very curious!!!
griff4345 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 01:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

use this to see if it recognize it. then you can test it or do a low level format

http://downloads.maxtor.com/_files/...ds/powermax.exe
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 01:58 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I suspect those maxtor 160's has a defect in them
I suspect the same also
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.