hard drive data extraction - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: which graphics card is better?
ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300 64MB 7 33.33%
GEFORCE MX4000 128MB 14 66.67%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default hard drive data extraction

Hi,
A friend has an old pc that refuses to reboot and he wants to remove some stuff on the hard drive and to be able to use it on the new pc.

Wat's the best way of recovering files, etc from the old hard drive?

Remove and install on the new pc if there's a free slot?Is there some sort of external connector that will allow me to transfer from one to the other if I remove the hard drive?

Any idea's would be appreciated?

Cheers

Muppet007
__________________

muppet007 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Hook up the drive as a slave on the new PC and pull the data off. Note: most programs will not work, but at least you have your data.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

This is a super noob question. The old drive should be made a slave and then transfer whatever files you want after the new drive is up and running. Not a hard concept and this question has been answered a bazillion times before!!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default

hi,
okay, sounds okay, what do I need to connect the 2 pcs, what type of cable? Remember the old Pc refuses to reboot, so it looks like I have to extract it...
cheers
Muppet007
muppet007 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

you dont have to connect the two pc's. put the drive into the new pc with the jumpers set on slave. this will make it run on a secondary drive. you can then get data off it.

what sort of drive is it? sata? ide? you need to find out if there are any spare connectors on the mobo.
joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.