hard drive data extraction - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
View Poll Results: which graphics card is better?
GEFORCE MX4000 128MB 14 66.67%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2005, 04:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default hard drive data extraction

A friend has an old pc that refuses to reboot and he wants to remove some stuff on the hard drive and to be able to use it on the new pc.

Wat's the best way of recovering files, etc from the old hard drive?

Remove and install on the new pc if there's a free slot?Is there some sort of external connector that will allow me to transfer from one to the other if I remove the hard drive?

Any idea's would be appreciated?



muppet007 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Hook up the drive as a slave on the new PC and pull the data off. Note: most programs will not work, but at least you have your data.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

This is a super noob question. The old drive should be made a slave and then transfer whatever files you want after the new drive is up and running. Not a hard concept and this question has been answered a bazillion times before!!!!!
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2

okay, sounds okay, what do I need to connect the 2 pcs, what type of cable? Remember the old Pc refuses to reboot, so it looks like I have to extract it...
muppet007 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

you dont have to connect the two pc's. put the drive into the new pc with the jumpers set on slave. this will make it run on a secondary drive. you can then get data off it.

what sort of drive is it? sata? ide? you need to find out if there are any spare connectors on the mobo.
joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.