hard drive cooling... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2003, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 65
Default hard drive cooling...

I'm getting a Maxtor 80.0GB 7200RPM 8MB ATA-150 and whether or not I need to, I'm going to apply a cooler. I've seen three types of coolers though and I need to know which kind would be the best...suggestions?

- Lay hard drive on to cooler like a bed


- apply to drive bay and lay into drive bay naturally

- hard drive lays on heatsink like bed as fans create airflow through heatsink...

thanks
__________________

__________________
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Maxtor 80GB/7200RPM/8MBCache/ATA-150 SATA
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ Barton
Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200/DDR400
ATi Radeon 9800Pro 128MB
Cosmic~Fury is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 04:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

actually the first gold one you mention screws onto the underside of the hard disk where the circuit board is exposed. i think the first one would be the best and cheaper.

not sure about which model that is but if it is made by vantec or speeze you have a winner. the second and third look pathetic, they would not do much to cool things.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

the first 1 looks like a winner. I might look into one of those myself.
ADZ is offline  
Old 12-06-2003, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default First One

I got the first one on my maxtor with two 80 mm fan intakes in the front of the case and the HDD is actually cold. Its a very nice product for the money.
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 07:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 39
Default

Yeah definetly the first one, i have a simular one goes by the name Q-TEC does exactly what it says on the packaging! thoroughly recommended!!

chris
SLAYERMAN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.