Hard Drive Compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2004, 09:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Angry Hard Drive Compatibility

I just installed a 300GB Maxxtor hardrive on my Dell Dimension 4300 computer, but it only recognizes it as a 127 GB Drive, and also not recognizing my second storage harddrive of 80GB anymore (this drive was already there). How do I fix this problem?
__________________

ETHRIVRAV is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

ETHRIVRAV,

The infamous 137 GB XP limit problem....

1) Start->Run->diskmgmt.msc . Disk managment opens now. If there is any unallocated free space , try to format it and you can see the full drive

2) There might be a tool available to enable large disk in XP, check the Maxtor website

3) Install service packs, to enable large drives in XP
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 10:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Maxtor big drive enabler
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 11:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You either need to enable it in the registry, use Maxtor big drive enabler or install a servicepack (SP1a or SP2)

You can enable it in your registry using X-Setup www.x-setup.com
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 09:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Installed service pack 2, and big drive enabler but properties still show 127GB instead of 300GB. What else can I do? Do I need to start over reformatting drive and reinstalling windows?
ETHRIVRAV is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 09:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

New bios Flash, assuming your Mobo supports drives of that size.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you can use the XP cd to make 3 100 gig partitons if you reformat it

You might also have your ide cables improperly configured
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by intercodes
ETHRIVRAV,

The infamous 137 GB XP limit problem....

1) Start->Run->diskmgmt.msc . Disk managment opens now. If there is any unallocated free space , try to format it and you can see the full drive
do this
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 10:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Okay, I went into the New Partition wizard in Windows and created an extended partition and allocated the space. The disk manager shows the whole space (total 300 GB), but when you check properties of this drive it still shows it at 127 GB. Is this to be expected? In other words, will I still have use of the whole 300 GB of the hard drive, rather than only 127GB?
ETHRIVRAV is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 11:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Assign a driveletter to the new partition.
start>run>diskmgmt.msc

rightclick the new partition and assign a driveletter.

both partitions should be 300GB in total. C: will stay 127GB unless you format the entire drive into 1 partition.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.