Hard drive clicking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2004, 06:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default Hard drive clicking

Yeah my hard drive is acting weird, well it first make clicking noises while booting and it will also make a clicking noise freeze then shut down, it will sometimes go to the blue screen (win xp), could this be because of power suply reasons? I have a maxtor 80gb 7200, someone give me some help plz
oh and also I have 300w power supply
__________________

LankstaR is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default

your ****ing kiding me ive only had this drive for like a month
__________________

LankstaR is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

I had a hard drive that ran for about 6 years (see my pc specs post) and when it finally died... it just gave out with no weird clicking sounds or anything. Just poof. Dead. It was a maxtor.

It was overdue though... i had expected it to die on me sooner but kept pushing it. It was always a loud hd though. Even my new one (on this crappy pc) is loud as heck, and its a new wd.
__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Hard drive clicking

MAXTOR

That explains every thing.

Sound like your hard drive is about to die. My last Maxtor did the same thing for about a month before it died.


MAXTOR - NEVER FORGET! NEVER AGAIN!
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Yeah, my maxtor died without any reason. I hooked up another maxtor and it gave me a fireworks show I will never forget. Also this was all 2 days ago. So I ordered a 120 gig Western Digital. I heard they are flawless.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 11:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

I have the same 80gb Maxtor drive I have had it for a little while and it is already finding bad sectors Western digitals are expensive but worth it
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 07:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah im sure its the hd, ive replaced the ps and havent had it crash on me yet so i guess that was the problem, ill just wait for it to die now ;o thx for help
LankstaR is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 11:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

WOW.....

You are taking this pretty good... usually when my hard drives crash.. I am PISSED OFF!!!


I remember one time while I was playing battefield 1942, I was about to snipe some cocky guy talking crap on the server.... and all of a sudden.....C R A S H...

I was PISSED!!

I was a Western Digital 80GB HDD. I went online and got an RMA cause it was still under warranty.
(You should do the same, check to see if its under warrany and get yourself a free replacement).
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.