hard drive and cd rom jumper configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2004, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
Default hard drive and cd rom jumper configuration

I'm having trouble deciding how my jumpers on the hard drive and cd rom should be configured.

On my hard drive it says :

Cable select settings:

::::| (driver being on the most right side)

and then it says:

Master or Single

::::: (no driver)


For the CD Rom drive it has only 3 settings

it has it for Cable Select (|::), Slave (:|:), or Master (::|)


Both the hard drive and the CD rom will be the main and only drives on the computer. Which settings should I use. I know i wouldn't use the slave one, but I do not know what the cable select means.


TIA
__________________

Haris_P is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

conect the hard drive Ribon cable to your primary IDE channel ,jumper setting to master .Conect the cd-rom drive ribbon cable to the secondary IDE channel , jumper setting to master .If you add a 2nd HD later set it to slave.If you add a second Optical drive such as a DVD -rw set it to slave .
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
Default

thought so too..

thanks..

ps. shouldn't the floppy be in the second IDE channel?
Haris_P is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

floppy has it's own ide, it's a different cable than the one that works for cd-roms and hdds..
Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.