Hard Drive Blinking too much when playing BF2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 02:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 196
Angry Hard Drive Blinking too much when playing BF2

I have a A64 2800+, Leadtek 6600GT AGP, 1gig Corsair Value, 120gb and a 8mb cache Western Digital hdd. Even when I lower the settings to 800x600 and I turn off Anti-Aliasing, every 3 seconds or so the hdd light blinks and it will make my computer stutter while playing. When the light is not blinking it is running very smooth.

I also have a no name 480 watt powersupply.

What could be causing this problem? Thanks alot.
__________________

__________________
Gateway
Quad Q9300
DDR2 6GB
ATI 4850 512MB
Acer 24" Monitor
Boma is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 08:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

This kinda sounds like a fragmented disk. When your computer goes to load some data for something in the game, it takes the hard drive a bunch more searching to find one file.

Another thing to look at is if you have many other processes running at the same time. If you have all these other programs requiring data from the HD, while BF2 needs data, then they will be putting a strain on the HD.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Use diskeeper to defrag the drive. See my sig for the download. Post back with results.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default Re: Hard Drive Blinking too much when playing BF2

Quote:
Originally posted by Boma
When the light is not blinking it is running very smooth.
unplug the led
LoTeX is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 09:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Re: Hard Drive Blinking too much when playing BF2

Quote:
Originally posted by LoTeX
unplug the led
lol!
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
This kinda sounds like a fragmented disk. When your computer goes to load some data for something in the game, it takes the hard drive a bunch more searching to find one file.

Another thing to look at is if you have many other processes running at the same time. If you have all these other programs requiring data from the HD, while BF2 needs data, then they will be putting a strain on the HD.
I shut pretty much everything off. The only icon still up is volume control and Trend PC Cillin Internet Security 2005.
I also ran window's disk defrag once.

I going to run diskkeeper right now.

LOL about the hdd light. Poop on u. jk.
__________________
Gateway
Quad Q9300
DDR2 6GB
ATI 4850 512MB
Acer 24" Monitor
Boma is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Re: Hard Drive Blinking too much when playing BF2

Quote:
Originally posted by LoTeX
unplug the led
Ha
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.