hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2005, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Default hard drive

how do i put another hard drive in my computer and do i have to do anything to it
__________________

brut is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

shove it in, mount it, if necessary set jumpers, connect cables, turn on, partition, format, download porn onto it
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 06:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Default hard drive

what are jumper and how will i format the hard drive i dont know how
brut is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 06:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Default

and is the a switch that i need becuse i have one i all ready and want to put more in computer and will it slow computer
brut is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 06:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

There is a few pins at the back of the harddrive, next to where the ide cable goes. You have to set it to the required one (master or slave, I can't remember the others.) There would be a cap supplied with the harddrive, probally already in the master position.

For xp, put xp disk in, click next until you get to the point where you need to partition it. After that, it will give you the options to format it in ntfs/fat32 (if it is a small one), format it in ntfs slow.


edit, for the above reply, you want the hard drive as slave, in windows it would be called something like E:

You can also format in windows, if the harddrive isn't active, and doesn't have windows on it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

you can partition and format it by right clicking my compuer and click manage and go to disk managment
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.