Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2011, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default Hard Drive

I recently purchased a new computer, but have a lot of old info on my other hard drive, and would like to run it as a external hard drive, what cable would i use for this?

Thanks.
__________________

BockCode is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Hard Drive

Are these drives SATA? You simply need to plug the SATA cord of that drive into a free port on your motherboard.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: Hard Drive

Yes, but isn't there also a cord that goes drive to USB?
BockCode is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Hard Drive

If you use it internally, you just need a SATA cord and SATA power.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making an external hard drive your internal hard drive zachapre Laptops and Notebooks 3 01-17-2011 12:21 AM
Turning an external hard drive into an internal hard drive? snypylo System Upgrades 3 02-02-2007 02:58 PM
How to copy from slave hard drive to master hard drive? blackninja Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 03-26-2005 07:06 PM
Move 30GB Hard Drive Data To New 120GB Hard Drive DavidWatersUGP Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 11-19-2004 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.