hard drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Default hard drive?

I have a hard drive with a lot of banking info on it. I was wondering if formatting it would get rid of that stuff from anybody getting to the files if I sell it?

Would I have to reformat it a few times to get rid of the banking info?
__________________

AmdFanboy is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: hard drive?

a format will wipe the entire hdd clearing all your files even windows so you'd ahve to reisntall windows
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: hard drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DawnOfDoom View Post
a format will wipe the entire hdd clearing all your files even windows so you'd ahve to reisntall windows
Format doesn't erase the data of the files itself. You can still recover the files. You need to use: Active@ Kill Disk Hard Drive Eraser. Low Level Format.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: hard drive?

With that Active@ Kill Disk Hard Drive Eraser can u specify what files to delete or will it just delete everything?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: hard drive?

SeaTools, zero fill it.

Formating is not a destructive process, writing files to the disk is :P
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: hard drive?

KillDisk or DBAN (Darik's Boot and Nuke) will completely get rid of data on the drive, since it writes useless data (like 0's) to the drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: hard drive?

Thank you guys. I will try one of those programs.
AmdFanboy is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 03:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: hard drive?

That worked like a charm. Admin can close this thread now.
AmdFanboy is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 04:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: hard drive?

Nah, we have to leave threads open for others to view when they visit the forum.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Need help installing a hard drive! the_patriot2008 System Upgrades 0 12-26-2007 10:56 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.