hard disk fail? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2005, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default hard disk fail?

when i turned on my computer, on the main menu it says hard dish fails. press f1 to continue. so i press f1 and then it says hard disk fails, insert boot disk and press enter to continue????
what does that mean??
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

The error signifies that your HDD is not being detected due to a fault. Check to make sure that the HDD is properly hooked up. Also, check to see if BIOS recognises your HDD. If it does, then ensure it looks and sounds mechanically healthy.

Next you'd want to check and fix problems with your Hard Drive. Find a boot disk with CHKDSK functionality, or with assumption, use your Windows XP Installation CD to boot into the Recovery Console, where at the Command Line Interface, you can do CHKDSK.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea, but the funnie thing is my cd drive wont open? it worked b4.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

...oh dear.

Does your BIOS recognise any drives?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

never mind i found out that the cable connecting my hardrive and motherboard was ripped or torn
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
never mind i found out that the cable connecting my hardrive and motherboard was ripped or torn
curiouse, how did that happen?
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

not sure...
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 01:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

CD drive should still work... it receiving power has nothing to do with the HD?
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.