Happened again - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2005, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Happened again

I posted this problem a week or so ago, now I'm having the same problem again but this time I did no overclocking. I bought a new mobo and processor and finally got things working. It ran for 3 days, then I needed to reboot, and it has been working since. I still have no video. Everthing powers on, fans, drives, etc. but no video. Now it worked before but why not now? Last time I increased the cpu voltage and that was the start of the whole problem, now it's back. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

you could try returning your bios to default settings to make sure the CPU part is a-ok, or maybe try flashing the BIOS for the newest and most stable version. Could be a bad file or something whack with windows boot. you could try formatting reinstalling windows if you haven't activated yet.

tip of the day: avoid activating windows for about 25 days so you know that everything is working fine and you dont have to talk to some moron about activation keys for 45 minutes.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 08:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I reformatted because I got a new mobo, different manu. I don't have a problem with activation. This is crazy. I said the hell with it this weekend. But I need it back up and running. I tried everything new, still same ole.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

you coould be having power surges or more likely sags. try a surge protector or if u wanna dump 200$, a kewl UPS (uninterruptible Power Supply, not United Parcel Service).
__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Well damn. I unplugged my UPS, and what do you know. It came on. How the hell can that be? What does the cpu voltage have to do with the UPS? That, of course was the 1 and only thing I did not check. Oh well, it's gets the best of us. Thanks for the suggestion. I spent $300 for nothing!!!! Damn that was expensive...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 11:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

just remove the CMOS battery and leave it for a minute. that should clear the BIOS, and undo any changes you've made
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.