Hanging - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2009, 12:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default Hanging

Don't know if this is a HW or SW problem; my brother has a comp that that will occasionally "hang" and I can't seem to figure out why. At first it did it after initial start-up; you had roughly 30 seconds on the desktop to do whatever, then it would freeze up; I thought it was the HDD going, did a disk check, and everything seemed to be working alright. I checked it through GPartition via my Ubuntu live USB stick, and it found a problem and corrected them. Computer then booted up normally and everything was working fine; this was roughly a month ago. I was just checking movie times and it froze up again; now, I'm not too sure if it's the HDD or not, because I wasn't do anything but scrolling down a page on movietickets.com when it froze......I just did a hard reboot and it appears to be working fine; for now......What do you guys think? I'll get specs up in a minute; I wasn't too sure if it was going to reboot fine or not.





EDIT: Here's the specs-

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ DC processor
1G RAM (unsure of operating specs)
GeForce 6600GT gfx
and I believe it's a WD 180G HDD
Windows XP SP3

The comp was bought pre-assembled, hence me not knowing most of the specs; I mainly take care of my comp stuff now, and let them deal with theirs

EDIT2: by hanging I mean the comp will appear to freeze- you can move the mouse around, but not click on anything, and after trying a few times to click the mouse will freeze as well. It doesn't come out of this state, you have to restart the machine.
__________________

__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 12:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Hanging

I think it's your CPU or ram not stable...
I had that issue with my current comp

bumped up with vcore on CPU one notch and it ran rock solid ever since
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default Re: Hanging

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
I think it's your CPU or ram not stable...
I had that issue with my current comp

bumped up with vcore on CPU one notch and it ran rock solid ever since
That's what I was thinking since it did it from just scrolling down a webpage. Nothing is OC'd on this rig though......I'm probably going to pull it apart this next week, clean it out, and check everything.
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Hanging

Run memtest.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 02:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default Re: Hanging

^Done^

No problems found. I'm letting it run over night just to be sure, but it's been going for 5hrs or so with no issues.
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default Re: Hanging

Memtest didn't find any errors; even ran a bunch of scans to put the system under full load, and after 7hrs no errors. BUT, we restarted the system just to find 1/2 our desktop icons and installed programs missing. This makes me think HDD, but IDK.
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Hanging

Run check disk on the hard drive. Open My Computer. Right click on the Drive. Under tools you will see the option for error checking. There select every option. Then start it. It will most likely tell you that it will have to be on the next restart since it is the system drive. So restart the system and let it go through the check disk function. There it will scan the drive for bad sectors and try to repair them.

Post back with some of the results. Will have to jot them down on a sheet of paper since that log file isnt easy to access.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 12:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default Re: Hanging

Ran chkdsk first time it was messing up; found no problems.
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 12:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Hanging

Have you run it since? Something could have changed since the first time it started to mess up.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 01:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Hanging

It's really sounding like a HDD issue to me. Try what Mak said and run chkdsk again, then get back with us.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hanging on startup related: HJT log vicky116 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 02-02-2009 11:10 PM
Hanging Boot Screen Redmo0n Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-13-2007 06:58 AM
Windows XP Home hanging during startup memac Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-12-2007 05:28 PM
Windows live messenger - just hanging at the "signing in" part madcat75 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-06-2007 01:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.