Half-Life 2 - Radeon 9800 pro - System bottlenecks? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2005, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Question Half-Life 2 - Radeon 9800 pro - System bottlenecks?

i just bought a radeon 9800 pro so I could play HL2 at supposedly high settings. Now I have ended up playing at 800x600 and reccomended (medium) video settings. I STILL GET LAGGY on explosions and sudden noises! I'm very frustrated. Why is it doing this? My radeon 9800 pro gets about 5100pts in 3dmark03.
Do I have any large system bottlenecks?

I get 90fps in Counter Strike Source Stress test at these settings!

AWWW! SCREAM!!
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

HL2 is very CPU intensive so im guessing that is your bottle neck and maybe the 9800 pros just dont do good on that game im not sure of how they perform and it and also you could probably use a gig of ram, and make sure you have no programs running in the background.
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 10:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

I played HL2 (single player mode) on one of my friends computer. He has a 9800 pro. And his system is a old Pentium 4 1.8 GHz (I think) overclocked to 2.4 GHz. I played on 1024x768. And I experienced absolutely no problems. Pretty similar system to urs. As the poster above said perhaps you shud check out 1GB of RAM?..

On a side note, why did u purchase 2x256 of ram???.. Kindda screws up future expandibility no?.. I would've gone with 1 stick of 512 to keep my options open - even if it's "slightly" slower than 2x256.
Chankama is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 11:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

hmm.. cranking up my res to 1280x1024 actually improved my game... lol.. i actually got past 200 FPS in some random location everything maxed (looking @ a wall )...
as for ur bottleneck, id say maybe ram... hl2 takes up like 300meg of ram when open.. the 9800pro is a good card but its not really up to Half life 2 Full Quality... try reducing the AA n the AF and u should have no problems
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.