Half Life 2: ERROR (Memory could not be read)? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2005, 07:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

Shoobie Rat, your a pretty nice guy. I'd like to take you out for a nice dinner sometime. How's Mcdonald's sound? Hungry?

I've already tried all that you've suggested. But, thanks for your 2 cents.

HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 10:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

Hey, what do you want us to tell you? You're getting memory errors. Either the application isn't installed right, you've got cache conflicts, or bad/improperly-placed RAM.

And before you even start getting uppity with me, you should read the forum rules. It's clear you didn't read Rule #10.


Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

What are your original RAM timings?

If the timings are anything except for 3-3-3-8, then make your timings either 2.5-3-3-10 or 3-3-3-10, matching the FIRST number with the original timing on the modules, keep the CAS the same.

I had this problem with the same memory, and this helped out a lot.

Good Luck.

ShoobieRat: What the hell is your problem? He couldn't be more polite in asking for help - take that pole out of your ***.
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
Capricorn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372

I wasn't sure if you tried just one stick of RAM or not. (If you did, did you try several of them as the 'one'?) It might just be one out of the three.

Relaxing the memory timings (suggested) and upping the memory voltage (not sure, but probably suggested in there somewhere) are the only other things I can offer.

Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.