GTX 280 fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2009, 09:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 46
Default GTX 280 fan

Hey all,
I've got a question about my XFX card, a GTX280.

I'd like to crank up the fan speed on that thing but i can't using the Nvidia panel for this.

If there's any program out there please let me know or a way to enable the cooling option.

I used to have an 8800GT and I remember the cooling option worked on that card,


Please let me know,
MAXX
__________________

mmaaxx is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 09:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

The fan speed is automatic you shouldn't need to manually control fan speeds. Only way I know is to use ntune and nvidia control panel.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

you could try the evga precision tool...i have no clue if it'll work with other cards than EVGA...but on the other hand, how could they tell? lol


EVGA | EVGA Precision


you have to be a member of their site to download. Hope it works :]
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 10:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

thanks guys ill take a look at it, my card is pretty hot which acts like a freekin heatsource to other hardware
mmaaxx is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 10:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

It will run 60-70C unless you use an aftermarket cooler or watercool
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

i know there is a difference...but my gtx 260 idles at like 44-45C and gets to 50-60C when I game..that's at 40-50% fan. Maybe you need more circulation in your case. or maybe there is a huge heat difference :P i dunno lol
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 04:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

rivatuner
RivaTuner v2.22 download from Guru3D.com
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 04:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

^ agreed, use riva tuner. best tuning soft ware out there. and i think only evga precision works only on evga cards.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 05:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
^ agreed, use riva tuner. best tuning soft ware out there. and i think only evga precision works only on evga cards.
Thirded.

I don't see why EVGA Precision would work on only EVGA cards though...guess I'm not sure since I have an EVGA card and can't test it on another one lol.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 06:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: GTX 280 fan

yea that's why i said what i did...how could they tell who made the card?

and what's with all the talk with rivatuner? i downloaded it and couldn't find any type of temperature things or fan controls....
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Benefit of 2 GTX 280's over 1 GTX 280 with these monitors lafguy81 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 12-14-2008 04:43 AM
Free Far Cry 2 With GTX 260 & GTX 280? Osiris PC Gaming 1 10-20-2008 06:54 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 3-Way SLI vs. ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 Quad CrossFireX Prototype New Technology and Products 57 08-24-2008 08:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.