Grounding and the Like - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Gum
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default Grounding and the Like

Soon I plan to install a new video card in my computer. The last time I even opened my computer was when I installed more RAM. Given that I did install the RAM, I had gained some experience about the grounding issue. However, I need a brain refresher and I have a few questions.

1. I read that you need to touch your case before touching the chips to ground yourself. Last time, I touched it a lot, before a touched ANYTHING. However, can I simply hold on to it the entire time and then be totally static free for sure? Or do I need to touch and let go for it to work?

2. Last time I think I recall unplugging the computer and then pressing the power button one last time to rid it of any spare electricity. Is this necessary?

3. Carpet.... Last time I did work on carpet, but as I said, I constantly grounded myself. But today I read a guide saying that you should not work on carpet due to the static electricity that it can produce. It would be very inconvenient for me to find a location that is not carpet and cart this thing there, do you think I can wing it again? Thanks!
__________________

Gum is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

See I always work on carpet. I'm in one of my PC's cases basically every day doin something or other. I always touch the PC case once before I start and again only if I move around on the carpet a lot. Never had any problems with static affecting any component.

I would just make sure the PC's power cord is out of the computer (or at least the switch is off to the power supply). No real need to push the power button unless that makes you feel more secure
__________________

bigstanklo is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Just spend a couple bucks and get an anti-static wristband, it'll allow you to work in your computer without anything to worry about.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

i built my entire computer on carpet and i didnt even know you were supposed to ground yourself nothing got hurt so i guess im a lucky one ive heard of people who've killed their processor that way
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I work on the carpet too, no other choice really, the comp is down there and yeah cords won't reach up to the desk....just don't wear socks on the carpet, touch the case, and don't shuffle your feet around a lot on the carpet. Generally I lean on my case while working on it, so yeah I've never had a problem with static discharge.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
just don't wear socks on the carpet
LOL i was going to say the same thing,Like everyone here say's just touch your case while working on it and there shouldn't be any problem,I just worked on the carpet yesterday and i had no prob's.
Shumway is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

And ALSO, avoid using magnetic screwdrivers, one little slip up and you'll be kicking yourself.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I use magnetic screwdriver's all the time,The magnet's aren't powerful enough to cause any damage.
Shumway is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Gum
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Ok once again thank you guys so much! You've been such a help the past few days...

Will I know whether or not my screwdriver is magnetic? Thanks.
Gum is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gum
Will I know whether or not my screwdriver is magnetic? Thanks.
Just touch something metal and if it stick's it's magnetized
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.