Greatest Technological Advancement... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default Greatest Technological Advancement...

What do you believe is the greatest technological advancement as far as computers?

I believe the change from the 16 to the 32 bit interface was a huge change, or could even be that laptops were created.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

The practice of Overclocking *WOOT*
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Yeah that would be a good one, actually I never thought of that XD
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

overclocking isn't really a technological advance though.

I think when hard drives became closer to how they are now instead of those record sized disks in the room sized computers of yester-year
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

I'm biased, I'd have to say electricity.

After that, I'd say GUIs. I lived through DOS....Dohh
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

The emergence of home networking and broadband internet access.

I've been building computers since 1996, and I can remember how much of a limitation it was that only one computer in our household could access the internet, as well as the fact that we had to have a second phoneline just for that purpose.

When I first was able to run a Sygate NAT'ing router on my main PC, and installed a 10Mbit hub and network cards in both our computers, that really changed the way we used computers in my house.

Compare that to today where networks are found everywhere, and hooking up to a wired or wireless network and getting broadband internet is just a no-brainer. We take the internet on our PC just for granted, since we are always connected 24x7. It didn't use to be like that for anybody but college students on campus networks or businesses.

Hell, even my phone (Pocket PC/Windows Mobile 2003 SE) is internet connected 24x7 with ISDN speeds. Its even a no brainer to drive out away from my apartment and hook my laptop up and wirelessly connect to the internet via my phone anywhere I go.

I think that is kind of the big change.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
overclocking isn't really a technological advance though.
Sure it is. Its given the somewhat nasty definition of "Making the CPU go faster than it was designed/intended to go," but its basically finding ways to increase the performance of your computer.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

I used to have a Celeron 266MHz SL2QG retail boxed. Back in 1998 (I think?) that was *the* chip to get, since it was just a rebadged Deschutes (sp?) core P2 with the 100MHz bus pin locked (and no onboard L2 cache if I recall). I remember having to use a piece of tape on the pin to run it at 400MHz.

I think it cost me maybe $500 to build the bare bones part of that system... whereas if I remember correctly a P2 400 was going for at least $500 on its own.

But people were overclocking way way before that. They started multiplier locking Pentiums before that because people would rebadge and scrape off the markings on chips and sell them at erroneous clockspeeds.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

IMHO, there were two: the Disk ][ and the Macintosh. The first revolutionized disk technology and the other brought the GUI to the average user.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

The internet has to be way up there, but I still say GUIs. How many people here would have given up long ago if they had to configure the memory manually for each game? Base memory, extended memory...Aaaah.
__________________

__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.