Graphics, possible ram problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default Graphics, possible ram problem

Hello, I am new here so please excuse me if I come short on any issues...

System:

Radeon 9800 pro sapphire 128 8x agp
512 ram kingston hyperX series dual channel ddr
MSI Neo-fsb MoBo
Lite on cd/rw drive
Sound Blaster live 24 bit
10/100 linksys ethernet card
P4 3Ghz
Logitech 5.1 surround X-530 speakers
5 total fans
ViewSonic G70f monitor

Games encountering problem:
Half life 2
Half life 2 DM
Garry's Mod
Counter strike source
Freelancer
Escape Velocity Nova

Problem Description:
Game freezing, sound continuously stuttering while frozen.
Memory read error if in windowed mode, Blue screen with ati3duag.dll listed as cause

Remedies already tried:
Deleted old ATI drivers, installed latest.
Ordering replacement ram
Playing in windowed mode
Re-installing AGP drivers
Ran mem test, came up with errors even with replacement ram
Closing all system tray applications
Tweaking Bios
Tweaking graphics settings
Hitting computer
Screaming at computer
Installed latest drivers for all applicable hardware
reformatted. twice.
__________________

uber is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

[Image/post deleted]
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default

Are you telling me to hang myself?
uber is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 07:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Have you tried reformatting? How about underclocking your graphics card? If you can, borrow another graphics card from someone too see if it works. Have you had problems before this? Also what brand is your power supply?
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
Have you tried reformatting? How about underclocking your graphics card? If you can, borrow another graphics card from someone too see if it works. Have you had problems before this? Also what brand is your power supply?
I will try underclocking, can you reccomend a good application and give me a short runthrough of what to do?

I have no friends with a better graphics card.

Antec.
uber is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 07:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uber
Are you telling me to hang myself?
Looks like you tried almost everything.Disable soundcard. If this won't help I would format.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uber
I will try underclocking, can you reccomend a good application and give me a short runthrough of what to do?

I have no friends with a better graphics card.

Antec.
Download RivaTuner.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

How many Watts on the Antec? I would suggest ATI Tool for underclocking. Also, do any of your friends have at least a graphics card? Just to see if its the video card thats the problem.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Looks like you tried almost everything.Disable soundcard. If this won't help I would format.
Reformatted twice. No difference except I lost everything on my drives.
uber is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
How many Watts on the Antec? I would suggest ATI Tool for underclocking. Also, do any of your friends have at least a graphics card? Just to see if its the video card thats the problem.
350 watts, and I need a walkthrough of how to underclock.
__________________

uber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.