Graphics or Case Dilemma - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 07:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Trust me, I know your scenario, you're very excited to get that new card, but you won't even get to enjoy it's full glory. Get the main stuff out of the way. May take you a little longer to get that card, but hell, you'll notice a performance increase on that Gf4 Ti if you get some PC3200 RAM so either way you'll be gaining FPS. And then you will already have the new mobo in the case and can simply pop in the new card
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

hehe, thanks nubius, I just needed someone to tame me down
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

you wouldn't be able to recommend a good 478 mobo would you?
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168
Default

I'm not sure if I'd follow that upgrade path Nubius. If I had to buy MB, RAM, and Graphics, I'd by PCI Express. At least the last two times they improved the expansion bus (ISA to PCI to AGP), you could still plug your old cards into the new MB. I don't think they make boards with AGP and PCI express.

Does your current system run your applications? That's always a consideration if you're thinking upgrade. Shiny new case or more HD may be all you need at the moment if you are getting a freebie. By the time you can afford the graphics card, you may not want it.
gsbtech is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I believe my plans are to get the case for nothing. I can sell my mobo and ram to pay for new ones, and wait for summer to by the card. Im gonna wait 2 or 3 years for pci-e to take over cause then prices will come down on all the top notch graphics cards of today.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168
Default

There are other things to do with your freebie like a 21" monitor, a nice surround sound system with PCI sound card and digital speaker system, or a dual layer DVD burner, etc.
gsbtech is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

IMO dont get the graphics card. Your system is bottlenecking, and by the time you build a new one the 6600GT will be 100$ instead.

Case is ok idea if you plan on building soon.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
you wouldn't be able to recommend a good 478 mobo would you?
Nope I know jack squat about Intels

Quote:
I'm not sure if I'd follow that upgrade path Nubius
What are you talking about? You saying he should get a 6600GT which is like putting a shiney new cadillac into a run down old barn... I know they don't make boards with AGP and PCI-E as that'd just be stupid since PCI-E is completely taking over.

If you want PCI-E you need to wait a good long while, save up so you can afford both the mobo and the graphics card at the same time, however AGP will still be good for 1-2 years.

Currently PCI-E doesn't even have a vast improvement over AGP, it will take a year before it's even fully utilized
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 09:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I think for now a new case is the best way too go. Right now i have a miniatx case that was like $15. Im gonna need a better box to make upgrading easier down the road.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 09:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

Actually they do have mobo's with AGP and PCI-E both. It also supports DDR and DDR2. It's a Gigabyte GA-81915P reviewd in Maximum PC, November 2004 issue pg. 80. They say the AGP slot is crap though as it is a bridge that has slower speeds.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.