Graphics Card - The struggle to find a good one - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2004, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 69
Default Graphics Card - The struggle to find a good one

Okay, You can see my Specs down the bottom

First off, People have been saying 6800 and yes i agree but simply i cannot afford it, X800 is once again a good card, but i cannot afford it, the reason is i am 14 and have dished out all my money to just build my PC ( which i have finished ) but now im just adding some better parts, At the moment i have PC2100 256mb RAM, But im saving up ( almost there! ) for a PC3200 512mb Stick, and then i will start saving for that graphics card, now what would be a good graphics card. it doesnt have to be brand new one that has just came out, i basically want one that will play nearly all games ( including Doom 3 ) at a reasonable rate and something that will keep me going for a while and it wont become really outdated suddenly and people going " What you have still got a ------ " ..... Can anyone recommend a cheap card ( Maybe $100-$200US ) that will be good? Thanks
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ ( May Overclock to ) 3200+

MSI-KT6V Motherboard

512mb PC3200 RAM

GeForce 4 MX440 ( Uprgading to ) -- I dont know!

40GB Hard Drive
Flying_Vortex is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 316
Default

First of all I suggest you lay off the 3200 and just get another 265(at least) of 2100, and as for a video card I would say get a higher-end 9800 Pro 128 mb. Thats about as good as you can get for under $200.
__________________

__________________
BlazingWolf
<font color=\'red\'>
<b>
<a href=\'http://www.gaming-forums.org\'>
Gaming-Forums.org
<a/>
</b>
</font>
BlazingWolf is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

I agree.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 01:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 69
Default

So you are saying that a PC2100 ram.. is good?. Another one?
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ ( May Overclock to ) 3200+

MSI-KT6V Motherboard

512mb PC3200 RAM

GeForce 4 MX440 ( Uprgading to ) -- I dont know!

40GB Hard Drive
Flying_Vortex is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The ATi Radeon 9800 Pro is getting allot cheaper, and right now its probably the "most card for your money" option there is.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

The Radeon 9800 PRO has a great performance to cost ratio.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 03:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

You don't want to buy PC3200 unless your planning on overclocking the FSB of the CPU or buying a new one. Because the FSB on the 2500+ is only 333Mhz if I am correct, which means it won't run PC3200 (400Mhz) at that speed.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 04:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 69
Default

I have been told the opposite of what you guys have been saying, some people have told me on msn and other places that it is not worth getting PC2100 as it is old and sooner or later i will need to upgrade...
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ ( May Overclock to ) 3200+

MSI-KT6V Motherboard

512mb PC3200 RAM

GeForce 4 MX440 ( Uprgading to ) -- I dont know!

40GB Hard Drive
Flying_Vortex is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 04:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

Get a 512mb pc2700 ram, and try to get a 9800pro or mabey a 9600xt 256mb.
__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 09-12-2004, 02:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
First of all I suggest you lay off the 3200 and just get another 265(at least) of 2100
Yes, I concure with this. Get the exact same type that you got...i.e Kingston, Crucial, Corsair etc. Whatever kind you got in the first place, get another one. Correct me if I'm wrong, but doing so will enable Dual Channel capabilities...better performance. That's the only benefit I can think of. Now if, by chance, you cannot find the exact same RAM, start lookin' for something better...maybe even a dual set (Dual Chnl.). I got my Dual RAM for $87 @ newegg:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-413&depa=1

Or here's a special they are having:

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...141-424&DEPA=1

For the vid card...ummmm...hmmmm...I can't really aid you in that, 'cause I was having some problems with mine and I need to download the latest driver.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.