Graphics Card showing Corrupted Areas - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2005, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default Graphics Card showing Corrupted Areas

My Graphics card has recently gone on the fritz. I really don't know what happened. First I thought my DirectX files were corrupted, so I reinstalled those. No luck. Then I noticed OpenGL was also corrupted. So I tried reinstalling my video drivers. No Luck. So, I'm pretty sure by now that it's my video card that's going crazy. I tried turning my AGP mode to 4x, in a crazy attempt. No luck. I can buy another one, but I don't want to unless I'm absolutly sure it's my card.

Here are the example screenies:

I was lucky to get those to work. With large games, DirectX just shows a black screen, and OpenGL freezes the computer for 15 seconds, then unfreezes it, then another 15 secs...

This is also happening in my Gentoo Linux install. Same problems with OpenGL.

I have a NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200, running on a AMD Athlon XP 2500+ with a gig of RAM.

Your help is greatly appreciated,

agrif is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351

hmmmm, hard to say. I can tell you look at every other possibility before thinking its a dud card, ive learnt that first hand with my card, ive thought it was a dud a few times but ive worked out its just my lack of knowlege in the area. I would firstly check that your card is seated properly though. Check for overheating as well, how hot is your system temp?

espeed is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

Does your video card have a fan? Is so, check to make sure that it's free of dust.

Most of the video cards that I have see come back for RMA has been because the fan has packed it in due to too much dust.

Otherwise, if this is a card that you just purchased, then it looks like you might have some corrupt memory in there.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.